Graduate Certificate in Theology

1 semester full-time or
equivalent part-time

Develop and deepen your knowledge in theological disciplines such as Biblical studies, Christian thought and history, or practical theology. Critically engage with the material while articulating insights for Christian life and social engagement.

What you will learn

  • Knowledge of sources, terms and conceptual frameworks required for theological engagement.
  • Research, analysis and communication skills applicable to theological studies.
  • Skills of interpretation to texts and traditions with an awareness of context, implications and application to historical and or contemporary issues.
  • Theological and hermeneutical skills in clearly articulating insights relevant to life, work and community settings.

Course structure

The Graduate Certificate in Theology consists of 3 units (72 points):

Units must be taken across three Disciplines in at least two Fields.

Most standard units are delivered over one semester (15 weeks), with teaching methods including lectures, seminars and tutorials.

View the Timetable for current units offered.
View all Stirling Units and Fields.
Download the Graduate Certificate in Theology Course Planner to map out your studies.

Entry Requirements and Admission

Successful completion of an undergraduate degree, or an approved equivalent.

International students:
Please read the entry requirements and follow the admission process for international students here.

Have questions about the course or application process?
Call us on (03) 9790 1000
Enquire online here
Apply for admission here

Course Cost

View unit fees and payment options here.
Students who are Australian citizens or holders of a permanent humanitarian visa are eligible for FEE-HELP.

Further Opportunities

Upon successful completion, graduates may proceed to:

  • Graduate Diploma in Theology
  • Master of Arts (Theology)


This course is accredited by the University of Divinity, which is constituted by the University of Divinity Act 1910 of the Parliament of Victoria. View the regulations here.