Bachelor of Theology [BTheol]

CRICOS code 011489A

The Bachelor of Theology critically examines life and faith through the study of the Bible, theological traditions and historical contexts. The Bachelor of Theology assists students to develop knowledge across broad areas of theology, as well as depth in areas of interest. It develops research and communication skills, and prepares graduates for further theological study.

Course learning outcomes

Graduates of the Bachelor of Theology:

  • Have a coherent and critical knowledge of Christian theological traditions and methodologies, with focused knowledge in at least one area.
  • Can articulate the knowledge they have acquired to generate insights and communicate them through clear reasoned argument.
  • Are able to engage theological traditions and contemporary culture.
  • Have a theologically informed basis for engagement and service.

Course structure

This degree can be completed in not less than three years and not more than nine years.

The Bachelor of Theology consists of 360 points comprised of:

  1. 60 points in disciplines in Biblical Studies, which must include at least 15 points in both the Old and New Testaments;
  2. 30 points in Church History;
  3. 60 points in Systematic Theology;
  4. 30 points in a discipline or disciplines in Theology: Mission and Ministry; and
  5. A further 180 points.

Each course of study for the Bachelor of Theology:

  • Must not include more than 180 points at level 1; and
  • Must include at least 90 points at level 3, including 30 points at level 3 in either Biblical Studies or in Systematic Theology.

Download Course Planner

Follow on study

Graduates have access to a range of postgraduate courses at Graduate Certificate, Graduate Diploma and Masters levels.


A maximum of eight units may be obtained in credit for completed degree level work done at other recognised tertiary institutions. A completed degree automatically carries four units of general credit, and another two units credit may be obtained in Field A, depending on the major taken for the degree. For credit to be obtained in the other three fields of study, the units concerned must closely parallel the content of the subject areas within those fields. Transfer credits are also possible. The total number of credits and transfer credits cannot exceed 240 points. Credits a re normally limited to courses completed not more than 10 years ago.

Students who began their degree under a previous regulation will be encouraged to complete the requirements of the new regulation (but this is not compulsary).

The regulation prior to 1 January 2009 can be viewed here. The regulation in force between January 2009 and December 2015 can be viewed here.